RSS

Uh, I’m Gonna Say … Waffles??

23 Apr

Again, I chose another recipe blindly. And another – one of many, it seems – that has neither a name nor instructions listed. Only a list of ingredients. I could tell it was some kind of baked item. Perhaps biscuits, I thought … but the ratio of wet to dry ingredients wasn’t right. And it wasn’t cake or cookies either because it only called for a tablespoon of sugar (at least that’s what I think the recipe meant). The amount of baking powder told me it was something that was meant to rise a lot, but it had too many eggs to be pancakes. That leaves … waffles. At least, that’s how I decided to interpret the recipe. That was just fine by me, because I love waffles! 😀

As much as I love waffles, however, the absolute BEST thing about this particular recipe is that it was written on the back of an envelope addressed to my father’s sister, the original 2¢ stamp still on the front, and a postmark dated 1963. To me, this was more than just a recipe – it’s a piece of my family history.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 ½ cups flour
  • 1 cup + 2 Tbsp milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 ½ tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ¼ cup + 2 Tbsp margarine
  • ½ Tbsp sugar

Since 3 cups of flour sounds like A LOT, I decided to cut the recipe in half. I mixed all the ingredients together as I would a regular waffle recipe. I remained true to the recipe with the small exception of adding a little salt.

What I ended up with was very thick batter – almost what I would expect for making muffins.

I thought I must have interpreted the recipe wrong, so I took a good long look at it again. And then I saw it – right at the very top was what looked to be a faint impression of the word “waffles” that had been almost completely worn away. I had gotten it right, and regardless how the waffles actually turned out, this was turning into quite a find!

I went ahead and put the waffle batter into my Belgium waffle maker and cooked for 4 minutes.

I wanted to taste the waffle right away, but anyone who knows Russian Mennonite waffles, knows they always come with “White Sauce”. I looked through Grandma’s recipe box for such a recipe but found nothing, so I used my own.

(White Sauce, for those uninitiated, is a homemade warm vanilla pudding that’s served over waffles. There are several versions out there, but mine is adapted from the Mennonite Treasury of Recipes)

WHITE SAUCE FOR WAFFLES:

  • ¼ cup waffle batter
  • 1 Tbsp flour
  • ¼ cup sugar
  • ½ tsp vanilla
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 2 cups milk

Whisk all ingredients together in a medium sauce pan and cook over medium-high heat, stirring constantly. Let it come to a boil and take off heat. Serve sauce over waffles.

In the end, the waffles themselves weren’t great (I actually prefer my own recipe over this one). But what an amazing discovery the written recipe was in itself. I’ll definitely treasure this one!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 23, 2012 in Meh ...

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Uh, I’m Gonna Say … Waffles??

  1. Dottie Donut

    April 24, 2012 at 12:39 am

    The waffles look great, bummer that they didn’t taste great. I find it awesome that you’re sharing your grandmother’s recipes…love the pictures of the old recipe “cards.”

     
  2. Marlene Reimer

    April 24, 2012 at 6:32 am

    Your grandmother gave me that waffle recipe in the early 60’s. Looks like the same ln. You know the egg whites have to be whipped and folded in. Makes waffles lighter. We have been using this recipe ever since

     
    • Grandma's Old Wooden Recipe Box

      April 24, 2012 at 7:03 am

      Kim had said she thought this might be the same recipe, but without any instructions it was hard to tell, lol. What I find interesting is that my dad had a different waffle recipe from Grandma that had a much thinner batter (with no whipped egg whites). But when I think about it, I’ve altered my own recipes over the years … perhaps that’s what had happened with Grandma’s?

       
      • Marlene Reimer

        April 24, 2012 at 10:08 pm

        She gave me the instructionsverbally. Over the phone I think. I reduced the margarine to 1/2 cup and I always made the batter a bit thinner.

         

Leave a Reply

 
